News Flash

County Executive

Posted on: June 2, 2017

County to Host Shared Services Public Forum

MAYVILLE, N.Y.:-- Chautauqua County Executive Vince Horrigan and Regional Solutions Commission Chairman, Legislator George Borrello invite the public to attend a Chautauqua County Shared Services Public Forum on June 7, 2017 at 6:30 p.m. at the Carlson Community Center, Lakeside Park, 50 W. Lake Rd. in Mayville.

The forum will present the county’s roughly 10 projects that are being developed for its Municipal Consolidation and Efficiency Competition (MCEC) grant application. It will also have breakout sessions facilitated by representatives of the Center for Governmental Research, Inc. to solicit input and ideas for future shared services projects. 

“After months of meetings, planning, collaboration and hard work, I am excited that we are bringing together the stakeholders who have been involved with these fantastic regional proposals to share the project details with the public,” said Borrello.

The MCEC is part of New York State Governor Andrew Cuomo’s mission to reduce the heavy property tax burden in the state by cutting costs, sharing services and increasing efficiencies. Through the competition, the county was awarded $50,000 in February 2017 to further develop its proposed projects.

“I’m excited that Chautauqua County has this unique opportunity as one of only six finalists for this $20 million grant program,” said Horrigan. “Regional solutions are gaining grassroots momentum locally and this grant funding would help implement many projects across the county, which sometimes cannot move past the discussion phase due to initial costs or other hurdles.”

The event is free and open to the public. Anyone interested in attending, should register by contacting Daniel Heitzenrater in the County Executive’s Office at or (716) 753-4672.


Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in County Executive

Sound the Alarm for Fire Safety

Posted on: August 28, 2017

CCIDA Receives NYSEDC Awards

Posted on: May 25, 2017